October 15, 2015

AAWRE congratulates Deborah H. Lee, P.E., P.H., D.WRE, M.ASCE as the 2015-16 President-Elect, Vijay P. Singh, Sc.D., P.E., P.H., Hon.D.WRE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE as the 2015 At-Large Trustee, and J. Kevin Ward as the 2015 Public Member Trustee. The new members will fill the board seats being vacated by out-going Past-President Paul F. Boulos, Ph.D., BCEEM, NAE, Hon.D.WRE, Dist.D.NE, Dist.M.ASCE and At-Large Trustees Steven R. Abt, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE and C. Dale Jacobson, P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE. The terms of service will begin this October 24 during the AAWRE fall Board of Trustees meeting in Costa Mesa, CA.



Ms. Deborah Lee, P.E., P.H., D.WRE, M.ASCE has more than 30 years of professional experience in water resources research and management with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).  Ms. Lee is the current Director of the Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory, of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Ann Arbor, MI.  Ms. Lee is a member of the federal Senior Executive Service and has held senior leadership roles with the USACE as the Acting Regional Business Director and Chief of Water Management for the Great Lakes and Ohio River Division.  Her experience ranges from operating and maintaining large-scale water resource infrastructure to directing innovative research on dynamic ecosystems.  Prior to her current role at NOAA, as Chief of the Water Management Program at USACE, Debbie had oversight responsibility for an $18M program with approximately 78 technical positions managing 79 multi-purpose reservoirs, the Ohio River and the Great Lakes.  Her program included all policy and technical activities employed in river, reservoir, and lake regulation.  She directed lower Ohio and Mississippi River reservoir flood management operations in accordance with Section 7 of the 1944 Flood Control Act under the auspices of the Mississippi River Commission and operated the Ohio Valley reservoirs during the record 2011 Greater Mississippi River Basin flood.

>To send a congratulatory note to Debbie

At-Large Trustee


Dr. Vijay P. Singh, Ph.D., D.Sc., P.E., Hon.D.WRE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE is the current Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering at Texas A&M University, in College Station, Texas, where he also serves as a distinguished professor with the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering and Zachry Department of Civil Engineering.  Dr. Singh is a world-renowned expert in the fields of kinematic wave theory and entropy theory, and in hydraulics and physical hydrology.  For more than 40 years, Vijay has dedicated his scientific and intellectual efforts to the betterment of humanity through national and international contributions to water resources engineering.  Dr. Singh has received numerous honors, awards, and fellowships, including honorary professorships and foreign memberships from universities, national academies, and government entities representing several European countries, India, China, Australia, Canada, and Mexico.  Dr. Singh is an editor at numerous water-related journals and served as editor-in-chief of ASCE’s Journal of Hydrologic Engineering.  The research he pioneered in entropy theory in hydrology has become the roots that have nourished collaboration with distinguished scientists and engineers from 15 countries, representing every continent of the world.  His hundreds of published articles, textbooks, and book chapters have had a significant educational impact, making him sought after as a keynote speaker the world over.  Vijay was recently elected to ASCE’s 2015 Class of Distinguished Member for his notable contributions as an outstanding leader in the engineering profession and in 2014 was honored by EWRI with the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

>To send a congratulatory note to Vijay

Public Trustee


Mr. John Kevin Ward is the general manager of the Trinity River Authority (TRA) in Texas with over 25 years progressive experience in public and private sector senior and executive management positions. Mr. Ward’s role as chief executive officer of TRA tasks him with oversight of the largest river authority in Texas and the largest wholesale provider of wastewater treatment services in the state. With the support of seven staff groups and more than 400 employees, Ward drives the implementation of board policy for the operation and development of five water treatment facilities, five wastewater treatment facilities and one recreation project, plus water sales from four reservoirs – all serving 63 wholesale customers including cities, municipalities and districts throughout the Trinity River basin. Ward also is charged with managing the Authority’s assets of more than $2.3 billion and a current operating budget of more than $222 million. Ward previously served as executive administrator of the Texas Water Development Board from May 2002 to February 2011 and in various other capacities at that state agency from 1987 to 2002.  From 1989 to 2011, Ward guided the development and implementation of most of the board’s current infrastructure financing programs. While at the TWDB, he served as the presiding officer of the Water Conservation Implementation Task Force, created through Senate Bill 1094, 78th Texas Legislature, which produced the Report to the 79th Legislature and the Best Management Practices Guide to encourage increased use of water conservation throughout the state. Mr. Ward currently serves as a member of the Region C and H Water Planning Committees, as well as the Trinity and San Jacinto River Basins and Galveston Bay Basin Area Stakeholders Committees. He also currently serves on the Executive Committee as a board member of the North Texas Commission and is a member of the Tarrant Regional Water District Customer Advisory Committee. In 2013, Ward was elected to the board of directors for the National Waterways Conference, an organization representing national interests related to water supply and waterways transportation. He was honored in 2011 with the Water Environment Association of Texas Outstanding Public Official Award for actively promoting sound science in policy and regulations affecting water environment issues.

>To send a congratulatory note to Kevin