March 10, 2023

The American Academy of Water Resources Engineers (AAWRE) is proud to announce Dr. Val S. Frenkel, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI as the recipient of the AAWRE 2023 Outstanding Practitioner in Water Resources Engineering Award. Dr. Frenkel is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the water industry in development and use of water and wastewater treatment processes, desalination, and membrane technologies; and innovations in use of membrane technologies and intermittent aeration concept.

Dr. Frenkel is an eminent figure in the water industry with his expertise in water and wastewater treatment, water reuse, and membrane technologies, including desalination. Equally instrumental was Dr. Frenkel's role in the development of low pressure membrane technologies and applications which are used and taught at the university level.

Developing, leading and delivering near 300 projects globally Dr. Frenkel's works go far beyond his job scope as they are published extensively both in the US and abroad, authoring several patents in the process. He has more than 100 publications including 21 books and national manual of practices by WEF, AWWA and ASCE touching on the areas of water, wastewater treatment, desalination and salinity management. For his works, Dr. Frenkel has received numerous accolades from the likes of the International Desalination Association and American Academy of Environmental Engineering.

Dr. Frenkel received his master of science in civil engineering/water and wastewater treatment and his Ph.D. in water and ecology science. Val is a founding Diplomate of AAWRE since 2006.

The AAWRE Outstanding Practitioner in Water Resources Engineering Award was established in 2014 to recognize Diplomate, Water Resources Engineers (D.WRE), who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the engineering practice based on either a single outstanding achievement or through a body of work related to the practice of environmental or water resources engineering.

Val stated: "It’s great honor for me to accept this prestigious award.  I would like to thank AAWRE President, the Trustees and the Academy.  Many thanks to my professional peers and colleagues, and particularly to my nominators, Prof. Berrin Tansel, Prof. Yoram Cohen,  Prof. Roger Babcock, and Mr. Frederick Tack.

My message to the new generation of water professionals: “Set your goals, be persistent, learn from your mistakes, which are not a failure, don’t give up, and you will reach your goals”.

>To send Val a congratulatory note