June 23, 2013

by Doug Scott and Frank Kim


From L to R - top row: Berrin Tansel, PhD, PE, D.WRE, F.EWRI; Theodore Cleveland, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI; Vijay P. Singh, D.Sc, P.E., Hon.D.WRE, F.EWRI; Ananta Nath, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; Dan Thomas, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; Morris Maslia, P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; Yee Cho, P.E., L.S.P., F.EWRI; Peggy A. Johnson, Ph.D., F.EWRI; Sheila Carpenter-van Dijk, F.EWRI; Robert Traver, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI. From L to R – bottom row: Jerry Lee Anderson, Ph.D., P.Eng., D.WRE, F.EWRI; William Ritter, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI; Steve Starrett, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; Walter M. Grayman, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; Avi Ostfeld, D.WRE, F.EWRI; Richard O. Mines, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI; Mark Killgore, P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; A. Charles Rowney, Ph.D., P.Eng., D.WRE F.EWRI

Among the large group of distinguished 36 civil engineers inducted into the inaugural class of ASCE’s Environmental and Water Resource Institute (EWRI) Fellows on May 19 at the 2013 World Environmental & Water Resources Congress in Cincinnati, Ohio, were many AAWRE founding Diplomates.

What characterized this esteem group of individuals was their significant contributions as an engineer, educator, researcher or technical leader; professional accomplishments; service to EWRI and other professional engineering societies; mentoring activities; and years in the profession.

“Tonight,” said ASCE President, Gregory E. DiLoreto, P.E., P.L.S., D.WRE, F.ASCE, at the induction ceremony. “We will recognize the first class of EWRI fellows. I’d like to congratulate them on their years of service and dedication to the Environmental and Water Resources Institute.”

Beginning this year, the EWRI’s Governing Board established the EWRI Fellow (F.EWRI) grade of membership to recognize a select group of distinguished EWRI members as leaders and mentors in the environmental and water resources profession. While there is no formal eligibility requirements, to be eligible for advancement to the grade of fellow, an ASCE/EWRI member must demonstrate accomplishments over ten or more years (in the grade of EWRI member) that have contributed significantly to the advancement or application of water resources or environmental engineering, science, and technology, and have mentored or provided other service to students or junior engineers/scientists.

The inaugural EWRI class of Fellows include:

  • Adnan M. Alsaffar, Ph.D, P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Jerry Lee Anderson, Ph.D., P.Eng., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Brian D. Barkdoll, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Glenn O. Brown, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Stephen J. Burges, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Thomas T. Burke, Jr. Ph.D., D.WRE, P.E., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Yee Cho, P.E., L.S.P., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Theodore Cleveland, P.E., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Sheila Carpenter-van Dijk, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Marcelo H. Garcia, PhD Dist., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Walter M. Grayman, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Richard H. Hawkins, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Peggy A. Johnson, Ph.D., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • William R. Johnston, P.E., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Chih-Ming Kao D.WRE, F.EWRI
  • Mark Killgore, P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Shang-Lien Lo, D.WRE, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Jay R. Lund, Ph.D., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Joe D. Manous Jr., Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Morris L. Maslia, P.E., D.WRE, DEE, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Steven C. McCutcheon, PhD, P.E., D.WRE F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Richard O. Mines, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Ananta Nath, P.E, D.WRE, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Fred L. Ogden, Ph.D., P.E., P.H., F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Avi Ostfeld, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Michael A. Ports, PE, PH, D.WRE, D.NE, BCEE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • William Ritter, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • A. Charles Rowney, Ph.D., P.Eng., D.WRE F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Uri Shamir, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Fletcher Douglas Shields Jr., Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Vijay P. Singh, D.Sc, P.E., Hon.D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Steve Starrett, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Rao Y. Surampalli, Ph.D, P.E, D.WRE, BCEE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE
  • Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
  • Robert G. Traver, Ph.D., PE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, M.ASCE
  • Tim J. Ward Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE

The special AAWRE-EWRI Induction Ceremony also featured the induction of this year’s Diplomates.


From L to R: Newly inducted Honorary Diplomate Daniel P. Loucks, Ph.D., Hon.D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE; Graeme Dandy, Ph.D., who accepted on behalf of new Honorary Diplomate Keith Hipel, Ph.D., Hon.D.WRE; new inductee Yiying Xiong, P.E., D.WRE; AAWRE Trustee Deborah Lee, P.E., P.H., D.WRE; AAWRE President-Elect Paul Boulos, Ph.D., Dist.D.NE, Hon.D.WRE; AAWRE President Rob Traver, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI; new inductee William Hunt, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE; ASCE 2013 President and new inductee Greg DiLoreto, P.E., P.L.S., D.WRE, F.ASCE.

ASCE President DiLoreto, who also was inducted as a new Diplomate stated, “At ASCE, we call civil engineers with specialty certification “Diplomates”. In engineering, the word Diplomate used in a certification title, such as Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer is a protected term signifying that the certified individual is also a licensed engineer. According to the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards, the title Diplomate is used to denote a licensed professional engineer who has been granted specialty certification and means that their education and work experience has been vetted.”

Currently, ASCE’s certification programs have granted over 1,000 Diplomate certifications. Among the Diplomate ranks are eight ASCE current and past-presidents, more than 20 institute past-presidents, and several dozen ASCE Distinguished Members.

“It’s ASCE’s goal to increase the benefits as the Academies mature, including providing those who hold the certification a leg-up on their competitors. If you are not a Diplomate but meet the minimum requirements to apply, I urge you to consider becoming a Diplomate.”

The 2013 AAWRE inductees included two new Honorary Diplomates (Hon.D.WRE) Professor Keith W. Hipel, Ph.D., Hon.D.WRE and Professor Daniel P. Loucks, Ph.D., Hon.D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE. Professor Loucks was in attendance to receive his Honorary Diplomate plaque and Professor Hipel’s plaque was received on his behalf by Prof. Graeme Dandy.

Other highlights of the ceremony included EWRI President Peggy Johnson, Ph.D., F.EWRI provided tribute remarks on behalf of the late Honorary Diplomate Margaret Petersen. AAWRE plans to hold a special 10th anniversary ceremony at 2014 EWRI Congress in Portland, Oregon.

The 2013 AAWRE Diplomate roster is:

  • Mark Anderson, P.E., D.WRE
  • Scott F. Berman, P.E., CFM, D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Scott A. Brown, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Stanley V. Cach, Jr., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • David B. Campbell, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Matthew Carney, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Tibebe Dessalegne, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Gregory E. DiLoreto, P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE
  • Chad Drummond, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Mark Ellard, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • John W. France, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • William F. Hunt, III, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Errin Kemper, P.E., D.WRE
  • Ganesh Krishnan, P.E., D.WRE, A.M.ASCE
  • Douglas Lamont, P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE
  • Shang-Lien Lo, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE
  • Raleigh D. Myers, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Ronald M. Noble, P.E., D.CE, D.PE, D.WRE, F.ASCE
  • David A. Raff, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, A.M.ASCE
  • David A. Ramirez, P.E., D.WRE
  • Goloka Behari Sahoo, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Mark Stone, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE
  • Tzuoh-Ying Su, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE
  • Wen-Pei Sung, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Quentin Brent Travis, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Todd Wagner, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Joseph M. Windham, P.E., D.WRE
  • Mark W. Woodson, P.E., LS, D.WRE, F.ASCE
  • Yiying Xiong, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Tian Zhang, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE