December 11, 2013

The American Academy of Water Resources Engineers (AAWRE) proudly announces the establishment of the AAWRE Outstanding Practitioner in Water Resources Engineering Award. This inaugural AAWRE Award was formally approved by the AAWRE Board of Trustees during the fall AAWRE board meeting in Philadelphia on October 26, 2013. The AAWRE Outstanding Practitioner in Water Resources Engineering Award is established to recognize a Diplomate(s) who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the disciplines of environmental or water resources engineering through engineering practice.

This award will be given annually to a Diplomate of AAWRE who has made a significant contribution through engineering practice based on either a single outstanding achievement or through a body of work related to the practice of environmental or water resources
engineering. Recipients must be Diplomates of the Academy and registered professional engineers.

Each year, AAWRE shall solicit and receive nominations from the Diplomates of the Academy. Such nominations shall be received in the form of a nominating letter to the AAWRE Awards Committee, official nomination form and at least two letters from Diplomates supporting the nomination. The AAWRE Awards Committee also may submit nominations for consideration.

The nominations for AAWRE Awards shall be submitted to AAWRE at [email protected] by January 31, 2014. In the event that no qualifying nominations are received, the AAWRE Awards Committee may at its discretion formulate recommendations on its own or decline to submit a nomination. Nominees are reviewed and recommendations are made to the AAWRE Board of Trustees for formal approval by March 1.

The inaugural AAWRE Outstanding Practitioner Award will be presented at the special AAWRE 10th Anniversary Ceremony on June 2, 2014 in Portland, Oregon during the EWRI World Environmental & Water Resources Congress. The award consists of a mounted certificate or plaque.

AAWRE is grateful for the work and dedication of the AAWRE Awards Task Committee to help establish this award:

Bob Swain, P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE - Chair
Vijay P. Singh, Sc.D., P.E., Hon.D.WRE, F.ASCE
Raymond Walton, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE
Jerry Webb, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE - Board Liaison