April 29, 2014

The AAWRE’s Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer (D.WRE) certification program was recently re-accredited by the The Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB) for a 5 year accreditation thru to the end of December 2018. The approval of the re-accreditation of the D.WRE program was announced during the CESB’s annual business meeting on March 12, 2014 in Alexandria, VA. During same meeting, the affiliated program of AAWRE, the Academy of Geo-Professionals (AGP) and the Diplomate, Geotechnical Engineer (D.GE) was also re-accredited thru December 2018.

The CESB is the recognized accreditation body for engineering and scientific certification and specialty certification programs. CESB is an independent, voluntary membership body created for its member organizations who recognize, through specialty certification, the expertise of individuals practicing in engineering and related fields. Created in April 1990, the CESB was the culmination of organizing work by volunteers from among the 130 attendees (23 organizations represented) who participated in the April 1988 National Conference on Engineering Specialty Certification.

CESB as an accrediting body provides basic criteria and guidelines for the establishment and operation of specialty certification programs for engineers, technologists, technicians, and related scientific; serves as a recognizing body for organizations that certify individuals; represents its members in communications and in negotiations with public and private agencies, groups, and individuals; and informs employers, public officials, the public, and engineering and related practitioners of the benefits of specialty certification. CESB is governed by the members through actions at its annual meeting and through an elected executive committee.

CESB 2014.jpg

L to R: CESB meeting on March 12, 2014 - AAEES Representative Christian Davies-Venn; CEC President Rao Surampalli; CEC and AAWRE Director John Segna; CESB Executive Director Bill Anderson; CESB Vice President Kenneth Manchen; CEC Representative Bill Kelly

The Member Boards of CESB are not-for-profit organizations operating certification programs, such as the Academy of Board Certified Environmental Professionals (ABCEP), the American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES) and Civil Engineering Certification, Inc. (CEC), a subsidiary of American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and AAWRE’s overseeing body. The National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) participate as Associate Members of CESB.

The AAWRE and the D.WRE certification program was founded in October 2004 under the leadership and guidance of members from ASCE’s Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI) and was the first Academy and certification program created within Civil Engineering Certification, Inc. AAWRE started the Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer (D.WRE) certification program to adhere to ASCE’s Policy 465- to broaden and deepen the body of knowledge for practicing engineers and to ‘elevate the standards’ in civil engineering.

AAWRE was the pilot program and catalyst for growth in professional certification programs at ASCE, as four additional certification programs have been launched by ASCE since the D.WRE certification.  In 2005, ASCE launched the Building Security Certified Professional program; the Academy of Geo-Professionals (AGP) and the D.GE certification in 2008; Academy of Coastal, Ocean Port & Navigation Engineers (ACOPNE) program in 2009; and ASCE's collaboration with American Council on Engineering Companies (ACEC) and American Public Work Association (APWA) to launch the Envision Sustainability certification program in 2012. The ACOPNE’s Diplomate (Coastal, Ocean, Port, and Navigation) certification program is also accredited by CESB thru December 2015.

Currently, ASCE’s Diplomate certification programs have granted over 1,000 Diplomate certifications. Among the Diplomate ranks are eight ASCE current and past-presidents, more than twenty Institute past-presidents, and several dozen ASCE Distinguished Members.